As of August 2026, Claude Code price starts at $20 per month on Pro, or $17 per month if you pay $200 annually. There is no free Claude Code tier—the $0 Free plan only covers Claude chat on the web. Max plans cost $100 per month for 5x Pro usage or $200 per month for 20x Pro usage. API access is pay-as-you-go, with a roughly $5 new-account credit and larger grants up to $25,000 for qualified startups.
Install steps live on Claude Code installation. When the CLI is the wrong shape, see Claude Code. Agent head-to-head: Claude Opus 5 vs GPT-5.6 Sol.
Claude Code free tier and credits
Claude Code does not have a standalone free tier. Anthropic’s $0 Free plan includes Claude chat in the browser, but not Claude Code, according to the pricing page checked on August 5, 2026.
If you want free Claude usage, the real opportunities sit on the API side, not the consumer subscription. Anthropic does not offer a permanent free API tier, but there are four routes to substantial credits in 2026:
| Route | Credit value | Who qualifies | How to claim |
|---|---|---|---|
| New account credit | ~$5 | New Anthropic API accounts | Automatic on signup |
| Anthropic Startup Program | Up to $25,000 | Early-stage AI-powered companies | Direct application |
| Claude for Open Source | ~$1,200 (6 months of Max 20x) | OSS maintainers with 5,000+ GitHub stars or 1M+ npm downloads/month | Direct application |
| Anthology Fund (with Menlo) | $25,000 credits + $100,000+ investment | AI-first teams with strong technical depth | menlovc.com |
Claude for Open Source launched in February 2026 and is currently the largest non-dilutive free Claude grant of the year. The ~$5 new-account credit is valid for roughly three months and covers evaluation, not production traffic.
Claude Code Pro and paid plans
Claude Code is bundled into a Claude subscription. You do not buy it separately.
| Plan | Monthly price | Annual price | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | $0 | Web chat only; no Claude Code |
| Pro | $20/month | $17/month ($200/year) | Claude Code, Claude Cowork, Claude Design, Claude Science |
| Max 5x | $100/month | Not reported | 5x Pro usage, higher output limits, priority at peak times |
| Max 20x | $200/month | Not reported | 20x Pro usage, highest limits, early access to new features |
| Team | $25/seat/month | $20/seat/month | Shared billing, admin controls |
| Team Premium | $100/seat/month (annual) | $100/seat/month | Max 5x quota + SSO, SCIM, shared projects |
Pro is positioned for short coding sprints in small codebases. Max 5x suits developers who spend most of their day in Claude Code. Max 20x is for users who do not want to think about usage limits.
API and usage-based pricing
The Anthropic API bills per token. There is no permanent free API tier—every paid call after your credits run out costs real money.
Model pricing is not detailed in the provided sources, but the API supports the current Claude family, including Opus 4.8, Sonnet 4.6, Haiku 4.5, and Claude Fable 5.
One important change landed on June 15, 2026: programmatic usage through the Agent SDK, claude -p, or third-party agents now draws from a separate monthly credit pool at API rates. Pro subscribers get $20 of programmatic credit, Max 5x gets $100, and Max 20x gets $200. Interactive Claude Code sessions are unaffected by this split.
Claude Code vs Cursor and other AI coding tools
Claude Code’s pricing model is unusual because it is bundled with a general Claude subscription rather than sold as a separate coding assistant. Competitors like Cursor and GitHub Copilot run on their own subscription models, but their current U.S. Prices are not reported in the sources used for this guide.
Where Claude Code stands out is model quality. On the Artificial Analysis LLM leaderboard snapshot, Claude Opus 5 (Adaptive Reasoning, Max Effort) ranks #1 with a score of 63, followed by Claude Opus 5 Xhigh Effort at 63, Claude Fable 5 at 62, and Claude Opus 5 High Effort at 61. Anthropic holds the top four slots. You can see the full rankings on our /leaderboard.
If you care more about raw benchmark performance than tight IDE integration, that ranking matters. If you care about per-seat team pricing or plugin ecosystems, you will need to compare the actual vendor pages directly.
How to use Claude Code for free in 2026
You cannot use Claude Code itself for free. The Free plan is web-chat-only, and Claude Code requires Pro or higher.
The closest thing to “free Claude Code” is:
- Claim the ~$5 new-account API credit and build against the Claude API directly.
- Apply to the Anthropic Startup Program if you have an early-stage company with traction.
- Apply to Claude for Open Source if you maintain a qualifying open-source project.
- Apply to the Anthology Fund if you are raising venture capital and can partner with Menlo Ventures.
None of these routes unlock the Claude Code IDE/terminal application for free. They unlock API credits. If you want the actual Claude Code product, budget at least $20 per month.
For more startup credit programs, check the perks section at /perks.
Is Claude Code worth the price?
It depends on how much code you write with it.
At $20 per month, Pro pays for itself if Claude Code saves you a couple of hours of debugging or boilerplate work. At $100 or $200 per month, the math only works if Claude Code is a primary tool in your daily workflow, not a occasional helper.
The model quality is strong—Claude Opus 5 sits at #1 on the LLM benchmark with a score of 63. But watch your usage. Community reports since Claude Code v2.1.100 suggest a token-inflation issue of roughly 40%, caused by broken prompt caching that re-processes conversation history on each turn. Anthropic shipped partial fixes through mid-2026, but reports still dispute whether the inflation is fully resolved. Check Settings → Usage instead of assuming your costs match the plan label.
Frequently asked questions
Is Claude Code free to use?
No. Claude Code requires a Pro, Max, Team, or Enterprise Claude plan. The $0 Free plan only includes Claude chat on the web.
How much does Claude Code cost per month?
Claude Code costs $20 per month on Pro, $100 per month on Max 5x, or $200 per month on Max 20x. Annual Pro billing drops the effective price to $17 per month. Team seats start at $25 per month or $20 per month billed annually.
Does Claude Code have a free trial or credits?
There is no free Claude Code trial. On the API side, new Anthropic accounts receive roughly $5 in credits automatically. Larger grants up to $25,000 are available through the Anthropic Startup Program, and ~$1,200 in credits is available through Claude for Open Source.
Is Claude Code included with Claude Pro?
Yes. Claude Pro includes Claude Code, Claude Cowork, Claude Design, and Claude Science. Pro is described as best for short coding sprints in small codebases.
How does Claude Code pricing compare to GitHub Copilot?
Direct pricing for GitHub Copilot is not reported in the sources used for this guide. Claude Code is bundled with a Claude subscription, while Copilot is typically sold as a separate developer-tool subscription. Compare the current vendor pages before committing.
Bottom line
Claude Code price in 2026 is straightforward once you accept that it is bundled with Claude Pro and above: budget $20 per month to start, $100 if you code in it full time, and $200 if you never want to hit a limit. There is no free Claude Code tier, but API credits up to $25,000 are available for startups and open-source maintainers.
Sign in or confirm the newsletter email at https://modelsandmakers.com/perks to see apply links.